Archdiocesan Council of the Laity Archdiocese of Caceres

Official Name Council of the Laity of the Archdiocese of Caceres
Other Name or Acronym CLAC
Vision To achieve unity of the laymen and women for an effective apostolate and community towards the building up of the Kingdom of God in Caceres.
Mission To formulate an annual program of activities in the light of Archdiocesan Vision/Mission and Ministry, adopting such measures as may be necessary for the realization of the laity in the Archdiocese of Caceres supervising and coordinating the participation of the laity in renewing and strengthening pastoral service to the People of God in Caceres.
Year Established April 10, 1984
Year Accredited w/ Laiko August 6, 1984
History On April 10, 1984, by virtue of an official and written appointment signed by the Archbishop of Caceres, 29 men and women of the Archdiocese were made members of the Council of the Laity in Caceres, for 3 years. The appointed Archdiocesan Director wrote to all 29 laymen and women informing them of the first official meeting-seminar on July 21, 1984 with the Archbishop speaking on “The New Code of Canon Law and the Laity”. The official domicile of the CLAC is the Cathedral Parish, as its closest Parish Council collaborator.
Organizational Structure The Council of the Laity of the Archdiocese of Caceres is a Diocesan Council of the Laity. Since August 6, 1984, it is a member organization of Sangguniang Laiko ng Pilipinas. Its Constitution was patterned on the Council of the laity of the Philippines (CLP) Constitution. The CLAC has an Executive Board: (President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer, and Chairpersons of its WESTY + Pastoral Committees appointed by the Archbishop of Caceres for a term of 2 or 3 years.
Composition of Membership An Executive Board; Chairpersons of Parish Pastoral Councils, Presidents of duly accredited Catholic Organizations/Movements, recognized and operating in the Archdiocese; and may include other lay leaders in the Archdiocese who may be appointed by the Archbishop to be members of the Council.
Main Activities Education and Formation (initiate, organize, promote, coordinate pastoral works/ activities of worship, service and instruction especially in whatever concerns the laity in the efforts of evangelization in the Archdiocese, responding to Archdiocesan Pastoral Priorities (APPC II); Pastoral letters of the Archbishop of Caceres/CBCP; exchanging information among Parish Pastoral Councils, Archdiocesan Religious Organizations, etc.

Brief executive summary report (1984-2008)

  • Provided basic learning for living identity and role of laity in Parish Pastoral Councils as Mission-Collaborators with doctrinal orientation for Ministry (Church & Social Renewal).
  • Education/formation of leaders and members of Parish Pastoral Councils, WESTY Committees, and Religious Organizations that the apostolate is a “servant-leadership” held with Caceres Committee on Evangelization, Caceres Catechetical Ministry, etc.
  • PPCRV as faith-response: a CLAC-flag-ship program: Bantay Barangay with Voter’s Education, Poll-Watching Seminars; Political Fora with Caceres Commission on Communication.
  • Archdiocesan Training of Parish Evangelizers for Family Visitation and Prayer Groups (aligning with Archbishop’s desire making family ministry the Archdiocese major pastoral strategy.
  • Produced and printed an 82-page working manual for the “Christian Laity and the Parish Pastoral Council” to help in the Renewal of Parish Pastoral Councils in the Archdiocese.
Affiliations Sangguniang Laiko ng Pilipinas- CBCP
Official Contact Address Metropolitan Cathedral Pastoral Center

4400 Naga City, Philippines

Official Contact Numbers Telephone: 054. 473.6308, 054.473.1836, 054.473.8297

Fax: 054.473.8383



The Archdiocese of Caceres is composed of 76 parishes located in the Province of Camarines Sur. Evangelized since 1578, the peoples’ loving faith in Ina, Our Lady of Peñafrancia, Mother of Jesus, kept alive the Christian–Catholic faith and became the focal point of unity in the Region. The Archbishop’s Pastoral Letter “Let Your Light Shine to All People” and Pastoral Exhortation “Our Future Passes By Way of the Family” made family ministry as the Archdiocese’s major pastoral strategy, “To Restore All Things in Christ”.
Current Officers President:    Atty. Minette Estanislao

Vice-President:    Mrs. Bless Arguesa

Secretary:    Miss Betty Villa

Treasurer:    Miss Eugenia Martinez

Spiritual Director:    Fr. Philip Francis Reazon Bersabe

Comments are closed