Diocesan Council of the Laity, Diocese of Malolos

Official Name Diocesan Council of the Laity of Malolos
Other Name or Acronym Sangguniang Laiko ng Dioceses ng Malolos


Vision “The Diocese of Malolos: A dynamic community of God’s people”
Mission We, the Diocesan Council of the Laity of the Diocese of Malolos, commit ourselves to act as catalyst and instruments in the attainment of evangelization/pastoral programs of the Diocese.
Year Established September 23, 1979
Year Accredited w/ Laiko 1981
History Bishop CIRILO R. ALMARIO, D.D., organized the Diocesan Council of the Laity on September 23, 1979 right after the consultation meeting with the different heads/presidents of the existing Diocesan Organization and Movements.   The main objective of the newly organized council is to become a coordinating and consultative body of all the mandated church organizations and movements, and the implementing arm of the pastoral plan of the diocese. After a year of existence, the Bishop requested the officers to conduct a research study of the situation of the different parishes of the diocese.

The study showed that some parishes have no pastoral councils so they began a program to organize pastoral councils for parishes that have no organized PPCs and activate dormant or inactive PPCs. The council organized three principal commissions – Commission on Formation, Commission on Service and the Commission on Liturgy.   Later, the Commissions on Youth, Mass Media, Family and Life and Temporal Goods were added

The members of the council served as the resource persons and speakers of the different seminars launched by the council such as, the Basic Orientation Seminar, Basic Bible Seminars I & II, Basic Bible Facilitators Seminar, Lay Leaders Formation and others. They also helped the Bishop organize diocesan conferences, synods, congresses and other diocesan celebrations. At present, they are conducting seminars on Parish Pastoral Councils; Pastoral Awareness Seminar; Pastoral Leadership Seminar, Recollections and Retreats.

The SLDM, designed the module for the Pastoral Awareness Seminar and translated to Tagalog the module on the Lay Leadership Formation Seminar of the National Sangguniang Laiko.

Organizational Structure The Diocesan Council of the Laity is governed by a Board comprising the Diocesan Executive Council and nine members appointed by their respective Vicar Foranes. The Board shall serve for a period of two years.
Composition of Membership The Diocesan Council of the Laity is composed of representatives or presidents of the different Church mandated organizations and the Co-Chairperson of the Parish Pastoral Councils which is the General Assembly
Affiliations Sangguniang Laiko ng Pilipinas -CBCP
Official Contact Address Chancery Office

Diocesan Center

City of Malolos   3000

Official Contact Numbers Telephone: 044.791.0326, 044.662.5507


Official Seal of the Diocese

Spiritual   Director:    REV. MSGR. ANDRES S. VALERA, V.C.

President:    Bro. Rolando S. Maclang, Sr.                        

Vice President:    Bro. Bievenido Antonio                                

Secretary:    Sis. Teresita Calayag                                  

Treasurer:    Sis Rosario M. Pengson  

PRO:    Bro. Antonio F. Juliano

Comments are closed