Official Name Teresian Association
Other Name or Acronym I. T. or T.A.

The Teresian Association is an international association of laymen and women called together to make Jesus present in today’s world. Members seek to promote human advancement and transform social structures through education and culture in both state and private entities and organizations.


The Teresian Association shares in the evangelizing mission of the Church, cooperating in the building of God’s kingdom in history. The essence of its mission is to provide an education rooted in the values of the Gospel which enhances all that is truly human. The mission of the Teresian Association is accomplished ordinarily through the occupations and professions of its members.

Year Established 1911
year accredited w/ laiko (N.B. not stated)

The Teresian Association was founded by Saint Pedro Poveda- a secular priest, educator and martyr, in 1911 in Spain. He received the inspiration to found this association at the shrine of our Lady of Covadonga. He was canonized on May 3, 2003.

At present, the Teresian Association has spread to 28 nations with thousands of members all over the world. The members are integrated into different associations according to their vocation and type of commitment: The Primary Association and the Teresian Cooperative Associations (ACIT).

Organizational Structure and Composition of Membership

The Governing bodies of the Teresian Association at the General levels are the General Assembly and the President with the Governing Council.   They exercise their authority in regard to all the Associations.

The General Assembly and the President with the Governing Council are also the governing bodies for the Primary Association while the Cooperative Associations are governed by their respective Assemblies, Heads and Boards.

The Primary Association is organized in sectors and delegations governed by a delegate of the President. Each of the Cooperative Associations on the other hand, constitutes an organizational unit to which the members belong.

Main Activities Members are working in:

  • Educational centers, colleges and universities
  • Scientific and health research
  • Diocesan Catechetics
  • Church and Pastoral concerns, programs for street children, social projects, livelihood projects, health projects, family ministry
  • Government and cultural agencies; arts
  • Non-government organizations
  • Youth organizations
  • Intercultural and Interreligious Dialogue
Areas Present      Members are present in:

  • Diocese of Bacolod, Diocese of Imus, Diocese of Malaybalay
  • Archdiocese of:
    • Cagayan de Oro
    • Caceres
    • Cebu
    • Cubao
    • Davao
    • Jaro
    • Manila
Affiliations National Affiliation:   Sangguniang Laiko ng Pilipinas

International Affiliation:   Pontifical Council for the Laity- Rome

  United Nations- ECOSOC

Official Contact Address 56 Sgt. Esguerra Street

Brgy. South Triangle

1103 Quezon City

Official Contact Number Telephone: + 63.2. 924.1195, + 63.2.926.1642

Fax: + 63.2.928.8261

Email Address itphil@skydsl.com.ph



This logo represents the Teresian Association as conceived by the founder ,with the Latin words – Deus, Dominus, Scientiarium, which means   God, the Lord of Science

The cross symbolizes Christ, the centre and foundation of the members’ lives.   The book represents science and culture, the means to fulfill their mission. The star is Mary’s presence as a model of openness to the Spirit and of apostolic fruitfulness.

Current Officers




Sector President:    Amalia Ledesma

Secretary:    Eufrosina Villegas

Treasurer:    Ma. Del Carmen Cabanig

Luzon Zone Director:    Azucena Camagan

Visayas Zone Director:    Rolinda Jover

Mindanao Zone Director:    Virginia Almario

Council Member:    Emma Melgarejo

Council Member:    Ma. Orpha Alonsabe

Council Member:    Mary Ann Escucha



President:    Isidro Porras

Vice President:    Jelly Villamor

Treasurer:    Milagros Santos

Secretary:    Mary Jennifer G. Juezan

Comments are closed