Official Name Young Christian Workers of the Philippines
Other Name or Acronym PYCW

A society where there is no exploitation of man by man, that is, a society where justice, peace, love and prosperity is possible for all.


Education thru Action among young workers thru Review of Life and Workers Action (ROLWA) and See-Judge-Act method to concretize and train young workers and enable them to discover the deepest meaning of their lives, their rights, as workers and the necessity to actively participate in the creative struggle for social change.

Year Established 1950
Year Accredited w/ Laiko (N.B. dates back to the foundation of Catholic Action of the Philippines ca.1950)

Founded by Joseph Cardinal Cardjin in 1912, the YCW started at Laeken, Belgium with young women needle workers. In 1919, a group of young men workers of the Young Trade Union and the Catholic Association of Belgian Youth formed themselves in Brussels and adopted the name “Young Christian Workers”. In 1925, YCW was officially recognized by Pope Pius XI. In August 25, 1957, YCW gained international status through a rally of 32,000 young workers from 84 countries in St. Peter’s Square in Rome, celebrating the International Young Workers (IYCW) World Assembly and the opening of its 1st International Council.

In the Philippines, YCW was organized in 1947 by Fr. Herman Martens, CICM, with 12 shoeshine and newspaper boys in Paco, Manila. In 1950, YCW was officially recognized by the Catholic Bishops Conference of the Philippines as a National Movement.

Since then, the YCW has gradually yet progressively developed from small Parish-based youth group into a National Movement of young men and women workers from the Industrial, Commercial, Service, Plantation, Unemployed, School and Informal sectors of the Philippine society.

Organizational Structure

The National Council is the highest organ of PYCW which convene every after 3 years to elect National Team comprising 6 members plus 1 National Chaplain. They serve the mandate of 3 years.

Composition of Membership

The National Team is composed of President, Secretary, Treasurer, and   National Team Representatives elected by the Council where as they represent the grassroots category of fishermen, farmers, factory workers, young women etc.

Main Activities

Formation/Training (Values Formation Christian Formation, Finance Education, skills training), Labor Education, Research and Documentation, Counseling, Social Advocacy, Socio-economic and International Solidarity Work

Areas Present Metro Manila, Iloilo, Cebu, Negros Occidental, and Camarines Norte
Affiliations International Young Christian Workers (IYCW)

Sangguniang Laiko ng Pilipinas

Consultative Status: International Labor Organization, ECOSOC, FAO of the United Nations

Official Contact Address Young Christian Workers of the Philippines

1316 Perdigon Street, Paco, Manila

Official Contact Numbers Telefax: + 63.2. 563.7173
Email Address


Wheel: Workers’ Action

Rice grain: Life

Cross: Faith in God

Globe: Internationalism

Philippine Map: Nationalism

Current Officers President:    Errol Alonzo

Treasurer:    Marigen P. Nero

National Secretary:    Leizyl Salem

National Team for Bicol:    Errol Alonzo

National Team for Cebu:    Juvelon Daan

National Team for Negros:    Benjie Opena

National Team for Iloilo:    Charlie Ponclara

National Chaplain:  Rev. Fr. Rene B. Candelaria, CICM

Comments are closed