Official Name Catholic Women’s League Philippines, Inc.
Other name or acronym CWL
Mission We, the CWL members, bind ourselves to:

  • manifest Christ’s message by words and deeds through the teaching of Christian values and enhancing the integral development of a person.
  • respond to the signs of the times and thrusts of the Church by renewed evangelization.
  • pursue the advocacy of Christian Womanhood and to inculcate in the youth the importance of spiritual and gospel values leading towards a true Christian life.
  • work ardently and incessantly in safeguarding the sacrament of marriage and the sanctity of family life, protecting and respecting human rights and dignity.
  • support the social doctrines of the Church and the preferential option for the poor.
  • preserve the dignity of Mother Earth for sustainable environment.
Vision The Catholic Women’s League is a religious organization dedicated to the Sacred Heart of Jesus under the patronage of Mary, Mother of God. It is envisioned to be a community of disciples committed to build God’s Kingdom, proclaiming the Good News of salvation in a spirit of love, understanding, and bearing each other’s dedication through the League’s motto: CHARITY, WORK, AND LOYALTY
Year Established 1919
Year Accredited with LAIKO (N.B. not stated)
History In the year 1919, Msgr. Michael O’ Doherty, then Archbishop of Manila gathered a few influential ladies in Manila to form organization known as the Federacion Catolica de Mujeres Filipinas, which later on became the Catholic Women’s League of the Philippines. The objectives were to be of moral and religious influence to society in general. The organization then expanded to neighboring towns and Dioceses until it became National in scope. It was of socio – civic religious nature. Mrs. Annie McLeod Kingcome, March 1919-1920 – was elected first President of “Federacion”. Mrs. Maria Villamor succeeded in 1920. Followed by Mrs. Aurora Quezon 1920-1921 and Mrs. Margarita Ansaldo serving from 1921-1928. In March 1928, Mrs. Annie Mcleod Kingcome Reid, was re-elected president and changed the name Federacion’s to Catholic Women’s League of the Philippines and adopted a new constitution based on that of the CWL of England. Branches and sections were formed and the Jr. CWL was organized. The paid membership increased from about 200 to 10,000. Mrs. Leonarda Ubaldo was elected president from 1929 to 1932. On January 20-22, 1929, the first convention of CWL was held. In 1930, CWL Phils., was affiliated with the International Union of Catholic Women’s League (now World Union of Catholic Women’s Organization). From 1932 -1950, Ms. Manuela Gay was president. During the liberation of Manila, the CWL National Headquarters was burned down and all of its records were destroyed. On January 19, 1947, the Phil. Hierarchy at its Annual Plenary Conference held at the Sto. Tomas Seminary renewed its endorsement and support of the CWL. The League set up a temporary headquarters at La Consolacion College, Mendiola St, Manila. Mrs. Luisa Lorenzo was elected president from 1947-1956. Mrs. Josefa Estrada was elected in 1956 followed by Mrs. Aurora Aquino in 1960, the time when the CWL Manual and CWL Hymn was introduced. 1960-1964, Mrs. Luisa Lorenzo was elected president for 2 terms. In 1964, Mrs. Imelda K. Dayrit succeeded Mrs. Lorenzo as president for 2 terms followed by Mrs. Nestora L. Benetua who served until 1970. In this same year, Mrs. Imelda K. Dayrit was again elected as President. She served from 1970-1974 and 1982-1986. Justice Leonor Ines Luciano – President from 1974-1976 and 1986-1988; Mrs. Pacita Z. Araneta – President from 1976-1978; Mrs. Annie S. Bagatsing – President from 1978-1982; Atty. Carolina Basa Salazar – President from 1990-1992; Mrs. Remedios E. Rodrigo – President from 1988-1990.Mrs. Susana P. Africa – served as President from 1992-1996 followed by Dr. Zenaida V. Rotea – 1996- 2000, Atty. Alicia D. Ganzon – 2000-2004 and Mrs. Josephine S. Gaviola – 2004-2008.
Organizational Structure The CWL shall be governed by a National Board of Directors under the Hierarchy of the Philippines. Composed of 17 members who are elected in the National Convention, the Board shall be the overall policy-making supervising and coordinating body of the organization on the National level. It is also the highest seat of executive, legislative and judicial authority over all matters affecting the organization. Archdiocesan, Diocesan, Apostolic Vicariate, Prelature, Military Ordinariate and Unit Boards shall continue to be composed of 15 members.
Composition of Membership. Any Catholic Woman 21 years of age or over is eligible for membership in the Senior CWL Unit of the parish. Catholic girls from ages 10-20 are qualified for membership in the Junior CWL.
Main Activities – Spiritual Formation/ Evangelization- Outreach programs for the families addressing the priority issues and concerns     affecting the family.- Partnership, sisterhood and linkages with other church organizations, GO’s and NGO’s.- Effective Christian leadership and discipleship and governance
Areas Present Tuguegarao, Bayombong, Ilagan-Isabela, Tabuk, Nueva Segovia, Bangued, Batanes, Laoag, Baguio, Bontoc-Lagawe, San Fernando Pampanga, Iba, Balanga-Bataan, Tarlac, Lingayen-Dagupan, Alaminos, Cabanatuan, San Jose Nueva Ecija, San Fernando La Union, Urdaneta, Manila, Cubao, Kalookan, Novaliches, Military Ordinariate, Pasig, Parañaque, Antipolo, Imus, Malolos, Puerto Princesa, San Pablo, Taytay, Caceres, Daet, Legazpi, Libmanan, Masbate, Sorsogon, Virac, Lipa, Boac, Calapan Oriental Mindoro, Gumaca, Infanta, Lucena, San Jose Occidental Mindoro, Jaro, Antique, Bacolod, Kabankalan, San Carlos Negros Occidental, Capiz, Kalibo, Romblon, Cebu, Dumaguete, Maasin, Talibon, Tagbilaran, Palo, Borongan, Calbayog, Catarman, Naval, Cagayan de Oro, Butuan, Malaybalay, Surigao, Tandag, Ozamis, Dipolog, Iligan, Marawi, Pagadian, Cotabato, Kidapawan, Marbel, Davao, Digos, Mati, Tagum, Zamboanga, Ipil, Isabela-Basilan, Jolo.
Affiliations Sangguniang Laiko ng Pilipinas-CBCP, World Union of Catholic Women’s Organization, PRO-LIFE Phils.
Official Contact Address 1141 Maria Orosa Street, Ermita 1000 Manila
Official Contact Numbers Telephone: + 63.2.523.3144, + 63.2.523.2956Fax: + 63. 2.524.3729


Represents the motto of the organization:   CHARITY, WORK, LOYALTY
Current Officers

President:   Amparo C. Lim

1st Vice president:   Erlinda C. Gonzales

2nd Vice President:   Melissa V. Macapanpan

Secretary:   Angelita M. Abel

Treasurer:   Carmencita M. Africa

Auditor:   Clarita G. Adalem 

National Spiritual Director:  Cardinal Luis Antonio G. Tagle

Asst. National Spiritual Director:  Msgr. Hernando M. Coronel

Board Members:

Mrs. Ma. Josefina M. Altavas

Dr. Rosa Rita B. Mariano

Mrs. Maria Corazon N. Cruz

Mrs. Ofelia Q. Cagurangan

Mrs. Whelma G. Apolo

Atty. Roselima C. Abapo

Mrs. Mariluo V. Chavez

Mrs. Yolanda T. Diaz

Mrs. Salvacion M. Magno

Comments are closed